Barbados Prime Minister Mia Mottley has won a second term in office in a landslide victory in the 2022 General Election.

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has created history once again with a second consecutive 30-0 victory at the polls for her Barbados Labour Party (BLP), according to a report in the Barbados newspaper, Nation News.

“From the earliest boxes, it was clear that the incumbents would be hard to dislodge.  Even those seats which were being closely watched turned out to be nothing more than a momentary blip,” the Nation News report stated.

Neither the BLP’s main opposing contender Democratic Labour Party (DLP) under the leadership of Verla De Peiza, nor the emerging parties, including the coalition Alliance Party for Progress led by former Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley, made any impact with the electorate.

According to the Nation News report, it appeared early on that the DLP’s Michael Lashley was leading in the St Philip North constituency, but incumbent Dr Sonia Browne “made a decisive surge to beat him”.

“Similarly, what initially appeared to be a close challenge between Dr David Estwick and newcomer Kay McConney in St Philip West, also petered out,” the Nation News said.

And DLP leader Verla De Peiza reportedly conceded defeat after her own race proved to be a non-contest against Peter Phillips in the St Lucy constituency.

The DLP is expected to hold a news conference later today, concerning the election result.