David Lee, Pointe-a-Pierre MP

Renuka Singh

All 17 sitting United National Congress (UNC) Members of Parliament have been screened and are awaiting word on whether they would contest their respective seats in the upcoming general elections.

General Secretary of the party, Dave Tancoo confirmed that the party has completed its screening and would be releasing the full slate “incrementally”.

“We have been naming candidates incrementally and will continue to do so,” he said in a text message yesterday.

He said that the party is also planning to release more names at its virtual meeting on Thursday.

Party chairman David Lee also confirmed that he has been screened and is waiting to hear about the selection.

If Lee is selected for the Pointe-a-Pierre seat, he would go up against Movement for Social Justice leader, David Abdullah.

Lee is not worried.

“David Abdullah is not an issue. He is welcome to run for any constituency. When is (sic) time, Mr Abdullah has many questions to answer to the people and the country,” he said.

The UNC has already named 16 of its selection including senator Saddam Hosein for San Juan/Barataria.

There have been rumours that because the party is looking to revamp its image, it may opt for new faces but Ramdial and Karim are confident that they would be retained.

Selected seats:

Arima – Flora Singh

Barataria/San Juan – Saddam Hosein

Chaguanas West – Dinesh Rambally

D’Abadie/O’Meara – Maurice Hoyte

Diego Martin Central – John Ricardo Laquis

Diego Martin North East – Eli Zakour

Diego Martin West – Marsha Riley-Walker

Moruga/Tableland – Michelle Benjamin

Point Fortin – Taharqa Obika

Port-of-Spain North/ St Ann’s East – Darren Garner

Port-of-Spain South – Curtis Orr

San Fernando West – Sean Sobers

St Ann’s East – Kenya Charles

St Joseph – Ahloy Hunt

Toco Sangre Grande – Nabila Greene

Tunapuna – David Nakhid