Dennis is new Chief Secretary

Newly elected Chief Secretary of the Tobago House of Assembly. (Image: THA)

Ancil Dennis is the new Chief Secretary of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA).

He was elected on May 6 at the special sitting of the Assembly Legislature, at Jerningham Street, Scarborough, by nine assemblymen from the People’s National Movement’s (PNM).

The former Chief Secretary Kelvin Charles, who remains a member of the Assembly, was absent from the Sitting.

The new head of the THA Executive Council will run Tobago’s affairs until the end of the current THA Session in January 2021.

The new appointment took place despite Minority Leader Watson Duke’s legal challenge to suspend the Sitting.

Duke sent a pre-action protocol letter to Presiding Officer Vanessa Cutting-Thomas asking her to explain her legal authority to elect a new Chief Secretary.

The post of Chief Secretary became vacant after Charles resigned on April 28.

He made that decision after losing as leader of the PNM’s Tobago Council to Tracy Davidson- Celestine, in the party’s internal election on January 26, 2020.


Ancil Dennis, the assistant secretary in the Division of Health, Wellness, and Family Development from March this year, is the THA’s youngest Deputy Presiding Officer; appointed at age 27.  Before this appointment, he was the Assistant Secretary in the Office of the Chief Secretary from February 2017.

On January 21st, 2013, at age 26, he faced the Tobago electorate and won the Buccoo/Mt. Pleasant electoral district for the PNM.

He holds a Business Management Certificate from the Association of Business Executives and a Master of Science Degree in Public Policy and Management from the University of London.

Born on January 14th, 1987, he originates from Buccoo, Tobago.

After completing secondary school, he was employed at the Bethel Credit Union in January 2005, before moving on to Republic Bank Limited in September of the same year. He then transitioned into politics in 2013.