This family of three show their fingers after they voted at the St. Joseph Government Primary School.


PNM candidate for St Joseph and Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh was declared the winner of the St Joseph seat last night, returning for a second term in office as MP for the keenly contested marginal seat.

Deyalsingh beat UNC’s Alloy Hunt, but up to late last night Guardian Media did not have the final tally for votes in the constituency.

However, there was no celebration as Deyalsingh’s office in Mt Lambert was buttoned down with only a light on upstairs.

Earlier in the morning, after he cast his vote at the Cipriani Labour College, he said in light of COVID-19 he would not be holding any night celebrations.

Deyalsingh said he was going to be at home and didn’t intend to come out into the public domain and advised all constituencies whether they win, lose or draw to stay home and celebrate.

Meanwhile, Hunt, a military man, was missing in action at his campaign office on the Aranguez Main Road last night.

His support staff were guarded about giving out his whereabouts or when he would be at the office as they gathered to take in the numbers coming in from the various polling stations.

Around 7 pm Hunt’s legal team, all clad in black, said that the votes were still being tallied and he would be there “shortly”.

A supporter took Guardian Media to Councillor for Aranguez/Warner Village Amit Sooknanan’s office further down Aranguez, where Hunt was purported to be, but upon arrival, the UNC media team claimed he was not there.

Up to 11 pm, he was not in sight at the venue. However, the UNC supporters were in a subdued mood listening to Dr Keith Rowley declare victory for the PNM on television later on.

Neela’s Doubles were on hand to dish out free doubles to the party faithful while awaiting the arrival of their candidate, plus a geera chicken vendor was also on hand.

Deyalsingh won the St Joseph seat for the PNM in the 2015 General Election with 10,536 votes, beating his UNC rival Vasant Bharath who garnered 8,903 votes.