Fern Narcis-Scope, Chief Elections Officer, Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC)

The Elections and Boundaries Commission has released the preliminary results of the August 10, 2020 General Election.

The following is a statement issued by the EBC.

“With an electorate of 1,134,135 in the forty-one parliamentary electoral districts in
Trinidad and Tobago, 658,297 votes were polled.

The voter turnout was 58.04 per cent.

There were official requests for recounts by the People’s Democratic Patriots and the
United National Congress. The electoral districts where recounts were requested are:

 St. Joseph
 Tunapuna
 La Horquetta/Talparo
 Toco/Sangre Grande
 San Fernando West
 Tobago East

During the recount in the electoral district of Tobago East, the candidate for the
People’s Democratic Patriots, Watson Duke conceded, ending that recount. Five
recounts are still ongoing.

In lieu of the aforementioned, the Preliminary Results for the 2020 Parliamentary
Elections conducted on Monday, August 10, 2020, are attached for your information and