Image courtesy Environmental Management Authority (EMA).

Twenty-five environmental activists will be specially recognised as the Environmental Management Authority (EMA) observes Earth Day 2021.

The EMA will be announcing the winners of the 2020 Green Leaf Awards in a television broadcast at 8pm, Thursday 22nd April 2021 on the state media house, TTT.

In 2020 the EMA invited nominations from the national community for Green Leaf Awards and received thirty submissions in seven categories. The panel of adjudicators deliberated in early 2021 and selected four Merit awardees, four Green Leaf Awardees and four Special Awardees.

EMA’s Managing Director, Hayden Romano, says this year, the organisation will honour 25 individuals for their dedicated service to environmental stewardship in Trinidad and Tobago.

“Earth Day 2021 is a significant day for environmentalists and as part of the EMA’s 25th Anniversary, we felt this is an appropriate occasion to recognise the work of individuals, civil society groups, institutions and private sector entities, all of whom continue to positively impact the environmental landscape of Trinidad and Tobago,” Mr Romano said, in an official statement from the EMA.

The EMA’s 2020 Green Leaf Awards ceremony will include a feature address from the Camille Robinson-Regis MP, Minister of Planning and Development, as well as remarks from EMA’s Chairman, Nadra Nathai-Gyan.

The 2020 Green Leaf Awards Ceremony will be broadcast at 8pm on TTT on Thursday 22nd April and online at the EMA’s Facebook and You Tube platforms (@emauthority).

Meanwhile, the EMA is reminding citizens that in the event of an environmental incident, they should contact the EMA’s Emergency Response Hotline at 680-9588; and for complaints, send an email to [email protected], or visit