The Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) is scheduled to wrap up voter registration on December 27th, for both the upcoming Local Government Bye-Elections and the Tobago House of Assembly Elections.

As such, those intending to vote in those elections must ensure their names are on the respective Voters’ Lists by that date, to ensure they are eligible to cast their votes on Monday 25th January 2021.

The EBC is urging voters to visit the Registration Area Office or Registration Area Sub-office in their respective districts, to register to vote or to verify they are on the Voters’ List.

In a public notice, the EBC advises that their offices are open Monday to Friday between 8 am and 6 pm; Saturday, between 9 am and 3 pm; and Sunday, between 9 am and 2 pm.  It also notes that as December 25th (Christmas Day) and December 26th (Boxing Day) are public holidays, they are not included in the Electoral Registration period.

Voters are encouraged to contact the EBC at 785-8206 or 785-8211, or visit their website at

The Tobago House of Assembly elections will see the voting into office of 12 Assemblymen, representing the 12 electoral districts on the island of Tobago: Scarborough / Calder Hall; Providence / Mason Hall / Moriah; Parlatuvier / Lanse Fourmi / Speyside; Roxborough / Delaford; Belle-Garden / Goodwood; Lambeau / Signal Hill; Bacolet / Mt.St. George; Plymouth / Golden Lane; Black Rock / Whim / Spring Garden; Bethel / Mt. Irvine; Buccoo / Mt. Pleasant; and Canaan / Bon Accord.

With respect to the Local Government Bye-Elections, which runs off in five districts in Trinidad, three mayors, one chairman and a councillor of a regional corporation will be voted into office.  They will replace local government officials who became Members of Parliament (MPs and Senators) following the General Elections on 10th August 2020:

● Lisa Morris-Julian, former Mayor of Arima and Councillor for Arima Central;

● Vandana Mohit, former Mayor of Chaguanas and Councillor for Cunupia;

● Kennedy Richards, former Mayor of Point Fortin and Councillor for Hollywood;

● Symon de Nobriga, former chairman of the Diego Martin Regional Corporation and Councillor for Morne Coco/Alyce Glen; and

● Michelle Benjamin, former Councillor for Hindustan/St. Mary’s.