Farley Augustine

The Progressive Democratic Patriots (PDP) has announced its full slate of candidates for the December 6 Tobago House of Assembly (THA) elections.

The party, which won six seats in the THA election in January, has also announced its theme for the election: “Leh We Fix Dis.”

In the January election, the PDP tied with the People’s National Movement (PNM) 6-6, leaving the assembly in a deadlock. After the Elections and Boundaries Commission created three new electoral districts on the island, a fresh election date was announced.

So far, the PNM has released their full slate of candidates, the Innovative Democratic Alliance (IDA) has announced five candidates and the Unity of the People (UTP) has announced one.

IDA political leader, Dr Denise Tsoiafatt-Angus, had previously said the party would contest all 15 electoral districts in the election.

In their announcement of candidates on Monday, the PDP listed its 15 “Spartans.”

They are: Natisha Charles-Pantin (Bagatelle/Bacolet), Dr Faith B. Yisrael (Belle Garden/Glamorgan), Terance Baynes (Bethel/New Grange), Zorisha Hackett (Bethesda/Les Coteaux), Joel Sampson (Bon Accord/Crown Point), Sonny Craig (Buccoo/Mt Pleasant), Abby Taylor (Darrel Spring/Whim), Wane Clarke (Lambeau/Lowlands), Ian Pollard (Mason Hall/Moriah), Megan Morrison (Mt St George/Goodwood), Farley Chavez Augustine (Parlatuvier/L’anse Fourmi/Speyside), Niall George (Plymouth/Black Rock), Watson Duke (Roxborough/Argyle), Trevor James (Scarborough/Mt Grace) and Nigel Taitt (Signal Hill/Patience Hill.)

The party said it was proud to be one that is indigenous to Tobago and can champion the issues of Tobagonians.

The PDP also called on Tobagonians to make their votes count in this election.

“The party strongly believes in democratic governance and hopes to reengineer the Tobago House of Assembly into a system that works for Tobagonians, a system in which resources are better managed, transparency and accountability are evident and all sectors of society benefit as a result,” the release stated.