The Election and Boundaries Commission (EBC) has received official requests for recounts in six constituencies after Monday’s General Election.

The EBC says they are St Joseph, Tunapuna, La Horquetta/Talparo, San Fernando West, Toco/Sangre Grande and Tobago East. 

Recounts in the 5 marginal constituencies in Trinidad were requested by the United National Congress (EBC), while the People’s Democratic Patriots (PDP) wants a second count in Tobago East. 

Following PNM leader Dr Keith Rowley’s victory speech, UNC leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar refused to concede.

“I’m a bit surprised at the results but it’s not over until the recounts are done,” she said.

According to Manager of Corporate Communications at the EBC, Bobbi Rogers, the counts will be detailed will take place in all the districts and polling divisions in the selected constituencies. The recount is scheduled to start at 3 PM.

She said because of the lengthy process results would not be available before the end of the day.

As it relates to the other 17 constituencies Rogers said the EBC would not publish anything until it has the official preliminary results and this could take days. 

On Monday night the People’s National Movement (PNM) declared a General Election victory claiming 22 seats compared to 19 for the UNC. 

Reporter: Chester Sambrano