President of the Agricultural Society Dhano Sookoo addresses the media during a press conference at the Val Park Chinese Restaurant, ysterday.

Dhano Sookoo is no longer president of the Agricultural Society of Trinidad and Tobago.

After more than a decade the society has a new president.

Dhano Sookoo’s Watermelon Team was defeated by Darryl Rampersad and his Hot Pepper Team at the ASTT’s annual general meeting today.

Guardian Media understands, of the 250 farmers registered to vote at the Tunapuna Hindu school, 243 were in support of Darryl Rampersad.

The new committee comprises 26 members, including Dhano Sookoo’s daughter, Devica Sookoo, who now holds the position of vice-president.