Three Tobago House of Assembly’s (THA) Secretaries Kelvin Charles, Jomo Pitt, and Hayden Spencer have resigned.

Charles, a former Chief Secretary, headed the Division of Education, Innovation, and Energy, while Spencer was the Secretary for Food Production, Forestry, and Fisheries. Pitt was Secretary for Youth Affairs and Sports.

This follows a decision by Chief Secretary and People’s National Movement’s (PNM) Area Representative for Buccoo/Mt. Pleasant Ancil Dennis.
Dennis asked for the secretaries’ resignations as they did not offer themselves up as candidates in the January 25th THA elections and are no longer Assemblymen.

With a tie of six seats each for the PNM and Progressive Democratic Patriots in the THA elections, no new Executive Council can be formed. The old one remains in place.

The Assemblymen have not chosen a Presiding Officer despite attempting to do so on two occasions.

Without the presiding officer, there can be no new chief secretary and other secretaries and assistant secretaries.

Reporter: Camille McEachnie