TAROUBA, TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO - SEPTEMBER 10: Lendl Simmons (R) of Trinbago Knight Riders hits 6 and Andre Fletcher (L) of St Lucia Zouks watch during the Hero Caribbean Premier League Final match 33 between Trinbago Knight Riders and St Lucia Zouks at Brian Lara Cricket Academy on September 10, 2020 in Tarouba, Trinidad And Tobago. (Photo by Randy Brooks - CPL T20/CPL T20 via Getty Images)

The Trinbago Knight Riders created history by winning its fourth Caribbean Premier League title on Thursday against the St Lucia Zouks by eight wickets. The victory meant TKR went the entire tournament unbeaten having not lost any of its 12 matches including 10 round-robin games, a semi-final and now the final.
TKR won its first title in 2015, then did the double in 2017 and 2018 before winning the 2020 title. The game started with the news that injury would keep bowling talisman Sunil Narine out of the starting XI. Kieron Pollard won the toss and elected to field first.
Andre Fletcher top scored for the visitors with 39 from 27 balls including four boundaries and two sixes. He shared in a 67-run stand with Mark Deyal who made 29. The Trinbagonian struck three boundaries and a six. Roston Chase chipped in with 22 while Najibullah Zadran made 24.
TKR made 154 all out in 19.1 overs.
The hosts’ chase got off to a rocky start as they lost Tion Webster for five and Tim Seifert for four in the first four overs. However, Lendl Simmons and Darren Bravo combined in an unbroken stand of 146 runs to end the hopes of the Zouks.
Simmons struck 84 not out from 49 balls including eight boundaries and four sixes. Bravo on the other hand ended on 58 not out from 47 balls. He hit two boundaries and six sixes as they romped to 157 for two with 11 balls to spare.


Ryan Bachoo