THA Health Secretary Tracy Davidson-Celestine.

Camille McEachnie

Three of the five Tobago Council of the People’s National Movement(PNM) party groups in the Calder Hall/Scarborough electoral district want the party’s screening committee to remove the newly elected candidate – Marslyn Melville-Jack.

They want her replaced with Dr Denise Tsoiafatt-Angus for the upcoming Tobago House of Assembly (THA) elections.

In three separate letters sent to the island council, copied to the General Council and obtained by Guardian Media, the groups say Melville-Jack’s nomination will cost the party the seat.

Calder Hall/Scarborough comprises five electoral districts, namely, Mason Hall-4,945, Government House Road-4,905, Darryl Spring-4,900, Glen Road 4,901, and Calder Hall-4,910.

In the letter, Calder Hall group #27 said their preferred candidate, Dr Tsoiafatt-Angus was nominated thrice – 2013,2017, and now 2020, but the screening committee dismissed her.

They said in 2017, she received 35 of the total 50 votes, and in 2020, 87 of 156.

“In 2013, as a team player, Mrs Angus gave way to Mr Joel Jack when he contested the first time,” the letter noted.

On Tuesday, immediately after the nomination results were revealed, the Calder Hall group openly expressed dissatisfaction.

Since then, they agreed to Melville-Jack’s request to meet with them on Saturday night.

A similar request was made of the Mason Hall group #26, but they refused, one letter stated.

Group #26 said they were the “only” team to nominate Melville-Jack in 2017. However, this year they did not choose her because they were “disappointed with her representation…over the past four years,” they said.

Darryl Spring group #17 said 30 of their 32 members voted for Tsoiafatt-Angus, last month.

“(We) are assuring that Tsoiafatt-Angus is the only nominee to … afford the PNM winning in Scarborough/Calder Hall,” the group wrote to the island council.

The steering committee comprises of island council political leader and Chair- Tracy Davidson -Celestine, General Secretary-Stanford Callender, Operations Manager -Ancil Thorne, Public Relations Officer -Kwesi Des Vignes, Elections Officer -Huey Cadette, Vice Chairman – Deon Isaac, Secretary-Yolanda Lisa George, and Lady Vice-Chair-Melville- Jack.

The party groups said they are awaiting replies to their letters as up to Sunday morning, the island and general councils had not acknowledged receiving them.

Guardian Media also reached out to both entities since Saturday night, neither responded.