The Red House, home of the Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

The Twelfth Session of Parliament is expected to commence this Friday 28th August 2020, at the Red House.

Confirmation has come from the Ministry of Communications (in the Office of the Prime Minister).

In an advisory issued today, the Ministry states that “Cabinet has given instructions to Her Excellency the President to proclaim the start of the Twelfth Session of Parliament”.

Cabinet is expected to ratify the proclaimed date and time at the next Cabinet Meeting, which is scheduled for tomorrow, Wednesday 26th August 2020.

The Ministry’s release also included the Proclamation issued by President Paula-Mae Weekes, excerpted below…


WHEREAS it is provided by subsection (1) of section 67 of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago that each session of Parliament shall be held at such place within Trinidad and Tobago and shall commence at such time as the President may by Proclamation appoint:

Now, therefore, I, PAULA-MAE WEEKES, President as aforesaid, do hereby appoint the Red House, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, as the place at which the First Session of the Twelfth Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago shall be held and 10.30 a.m. on Friday the 28th day of August, 2020, as the time at which the said Session shall commence.

Given under my hand and the Seal of the President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago at the Office of the President, St. Ann’s_______ this _______ day of _______, 2020.

The Parliament Chamber, Red House, Port of Spain.