A UNC member has her temperature checked, before being allowed to cast her vote at Shiva Boys Hindu College, Clarke Road, Penal.

Radhica De Silva

Official UNC results are expected today as those counting ballot papers had to count multiple positions on each ballot paper.

By 10 pm none of the results was declared as official as the UNC Elections Committee had not yet submitted official figures.

However, results from field representatives were showing a massive lead for Kamla Persad-Bissessar, who acknowledged that “trends” showed that her Star team was heading to victory.

Data obtained by Guardian Media from a data compiler at Persad-Bissessar’s constituency showed she secured 565 votes in the Diego Martin Central seat, compared to Vasant Bharath who got two votes.

In Moruga/ Tableland, Persad-Bissessar got 565 votes while Bharath got 64.

In the St Ann’s East, Persad-Bissessar got 102 votes while Bharath got three votes.

In Diego Martin West, Persad-Bissessar got 67 votes while Bharath got 8.

In Tobago, Persad-Bissessar got 12 votes and Vasant Bharath got one vote.

In Arima, Persad-Bissessar got 59 votes and Bharath got 21.

In Point Fortin, Persad-Bissessar got 89 while Bharath got five votes.

UNC data compilers said all of these statistics were unofficial.

Up to 9:55 pm, data had trickled in from 11 constituencies which gave Persad-Bissessar a total of 2,388 votes whereas Bharath had a total of 312 votes.

Persad-Bissessar who addressed supporters via the UNC’s Facebook page at 9:30 pm said it seemed she was set to retain her post as the political leader.

She said she and her team will be at the office until the wee hours of the morning awaiting the final results.